Not a member yet? Signup, It's Free

Personal History

My name is Brianna Sherrill. I am 18 years old, and a Freshman at Western Carolina University. While in high school I was a member of the Bible Club and an active member of the Interact Club. The club's focus is on volunteering and community service. In November, 2014 I worked with Gaston College professors and students to provide food to a local domestic violence shelter. During the holiday season we were able to provide 67 familes with Thanksgiving Day meals that year; at no cost to any of the recipients. I was Vice President in charge of sales on our yearbook staff; and was responsible for page layout and design. My senior year  I was the Editor of the yearbook. I was also a member of the National Beta Club, which is an academic honor society for high school Freshman and Sophomores. Having been taught from an early age that school was my "job" I worked diligently at my education and place a high value on achieving great results. I graduated Cum Laude with a 4.1 GPA and took numerous AP classes and other high level courses. Now, I'm staring my academic career at WCU and will work hard to achieve the kind of results I did in high school.

Although I have not been in the sport of motocross very long, I have grown passionate about it and dirt bikes in general. My dad took me to an arena cross in December 2011 and I was hooked! I got my first dirt bike in March 2012 and my dad taught me to ride. By November 2012 I was in my  first race. And now I can’t get enough of it. My dad is so supportive of my riding and takes me to practice tracks a least twice a month. (the closest track being an hour drive from our house).  My dad even tore up our lawn to build a small track for me to practice on. I race in the Womens class now, having raced in the Girls (12-16) before I got too old. 

Riding Goals

My goal is to be better than I was the previous year. This year I have pushed myself to become a better person on and off the track. I have had my ups and downs, but each race makes me stronger and better. Another important goal to me is to always stay positive. I treat all riders with respect and end every race with a positive attitude; even if I didn't get the results that I wanted. I also hope to inspire people and to show/teach them to have the right mindset.

In addition  to my  riding/racing goals I attend Western Carolina University where I will major in Athletic Trainer, with my ultimate goal of earning my DPT, Doctor of Physical Therapy. I want to be a physical therapist and devote my practice to helping riders and racers rcovery from injuries suffered on the track and off. I want to help bring them back to a healthy place so they can continue to pursue the sport we all love.

Competitive Highlights

I have enjoyed every race I’ve been in. But there are two that stand out as the most memorable to me so far. The first was on December 29, 2012. I was racing the Womens class in the FMF Indoor Motocross Winter Series at the NC Agricultural Center. It was my first race where the field included bikes that were  bigger than the 85’s I was used to racing against. This was the first race where I won a trophy! A plaque really, for 6th place. It was my first race where I won an award. The second race that I’m proud of took place on November 29, 2013. Again it was the FMF Indoor Motocross Winter Series at the NC Agricultural Center, racing 85d class. In this race a rider went down right in front of me twenty feet out of the gate. I was able to get around him with no problems and continued on.  In one of the corners a rider was trying to pass me on the inside but ended up taking us both out. I got pinned between both bikes and couldn’t get up. A track official had to lift my bike off me. Once up, I fired my bike up and jumped back into the race. When it was over I had finished in 7th place. Wow!  I was surprised and pleased to have finished so good after such a crash.
These are the two that stand out to me now, but I expect to have many more memorable race experiences in the future.