Not a member yet? Signup, It's Free

Personal History

I am 34yrs old.  I grew up in Michigan, but have lived in eight states since High School.  I am a current active duty military member - a helicopter search & rescue pilot for the US Coast Guard.  I have been in the military for 16 years.  I have a Bachelor's and a Master's Degree.  I have a wife and young daughter; we enjoy hiking, camping, fitness, vacationing, and wine tasting.  I have been riding motorcycles, dirt bikes, snowmobiles, watercraft, and ATV's my entire life.  My first ORV was a Honda ATC 70 at 2 years old.  Since then, I have owned over 20 motorcycles and dirt bikes - it is my passion.  My wife and daughter both enjoy riding recreationally; I just bought my daughter and OSET (electric trials bike) this year.  We move around the country every 2-4 years (moving again in April of this year).



Riding Goals

I started riding at age 2 and racing at age 12 - motocross and arena cross.  I did not compete well and was very inconsistent.  I had no formal training and little financial support, and as a result I did not race beyond age 16.  After many years of only riding recreationally, I decided to give racing another shot.  I had just moved to CA in 2014 and began riding with a great group of very skilled riders.  They encouraged me to race the upcoming hare scramble series and I ended up winning the series championship in my class.  I made every race of the series and saw my skill and patience grow each race.  I was subsequently bumped to the next class and continue to compete there.  

Future riding goals: I will move out of CA and head to NC this spring where I plan to continue racing hare scrambles and enduros and plan to work toward advancement to "expert" class.  As work allows, I plan to race a few of the GNCC's as well as Virginia Championship Hare Scramble Series (VCHSS) and NC Hare Scramble Assoc. races.  I completed half of the Trans-America Trail via Dual-Sport in 2012 and plan to finish next year.  I will ride Moab with friends this spring during my move across country.  I have 4-day ride planned in the CA Mojave desert in March.

I ride because it is my passion.  Racing is fun and exciting, but any type of riding will do.  I do dozens of weekend ride trips each year to various epic riding destinations with any and all friends that can get away to join.

Competitive Highlights

I have attended two off-road racing schools and one supermoto race school in the past 12 months.  I won an AMA District Hare Scramble Championship.  I am competing for my second AMA hare scramble championship over the next 3 months.