MXSponsor.com

   

Not a member yet? Signup, It's Free


Personal History

My name is Tryston Zohfeld and I am currently 13 years old. I have been on or around motorcycles most of my life. I began riding when I was 3 years old on a PW50, before I even owned my first bicycle. Even though I had training wheels, it didn't take me long to have my first big crash which kept me off the bike for almost a year. I began riding again when I was about 5, but didn't really begin to compete until I was 8 years old. Most all of my riding consisted of trails, woods, and natural terrain, so Cross Country Racing seemed to be a natural fit. I joined TCCRA and started out racing the 65cc Amateur class. My first season, I came in 3rd overall out of approximately 25 riders. That same year I took home a 2nd place season finish in a similar winter series, TORO. Over the next few seasons, I transitioned up the ranks from Amateur, through Intermediate, and can finally run in the Mini Experts. I'm also in school athletics, so when not riding, I am the starting Running Back for our 8th grade football team. I'm currently running all A's and B's, and have made the honor roll on several occasions.

Riding Goals

Although my riding style is rooted in Cross Country and Enduros, I have also spend a tremendous amount of time on MX tracks. I have a deep passion for Cross Country, however I would like to prove to myself that I can also be successful in the Motocross World. My dream is to make it to Loretta Lynn's by the 2017 National Championships. Having never been before, I know that this is not a task to take lightly. Although I will be transitioning to a new/bigger bike (2016 KTM 150SX) for the 2016 Cross Country season, I plan to attend the 2016 area qualifiers on my 2015 KX100. I feel that I will have a greater comfort level on this bike, and will ultimately be more competitive. In preparation, I intend to hire a trainer this fall to work with me on adapting my current skills, along with obtaining and perfecting the new skills I will need to be successful. I know I have the drive and talent, now it's just a matter of taking it out of the woods, and putting it all together on a MX track.

Competitive Highlights

When I began racing 5 years ago, I thought I was going to be way behind the other kids my age. I was new to Cross Country and only had about 6 months of seat time on my new KX65. I showed up at my first race not knowing what to expect and scared out of my mind. I didn't know anyone, but a few of the riders I spoke with in my class had been racing since the beginner 50's. I got to the starting line, and there were about 20 other riders in my class. I thought I was going to puke. The flag dropped and off we went. I collided mid air with another rider half way through my first lap and went down hard. My parents made me finish the race although I got dead last. Over the course of the season, I settled in and progressively got better. It was a 13 race season, and I ended up 3rd overall in the championship. That same year, we joined an 8 race winter league, which I ended up 2nd. Getting so close to the title and coming up short was a huge disappointment for me, and I've been chasing the title every since. I progressed very quickly, but so did some of the other kids. When you're running with other expert riders, the competition becomes fierce. I have 2 races left in a season that began in March of this year. I'm currently 30 points ahead of 2nd place, and simply need to finish out the last two strong to tie up my first championship. This will be the biggest accomplishment I've ever achieved, and cannot wait to update my profile to "Champion" by the end of this month. I don't seem to possess the ability to lay up or take it easy on the track however, so I'm just going to continue to push like I have all season...and ride smart!